Skip to main content


You are here

      2018 2017
 2016  2015  2014  2013  2012
 2011  2010  2009  2008  2007
 2006  2005 2004  2003  2002

AESS members elevated to IEEE Fellows in 2018

Fauzia Ahmad 
for contribution to through-the-wall radar imaging
Erik Blasch
for leadership in aerospace information fusion systems

Brian Rigling
for contributions to synthetic aperture radar imaging

Kevin Sangston
for contributions to coherent detection of radar signals in clutter

David Whelan
for leadership in space-based navigation, synchronization, and surveillance


 AESS members elevated to IEEE Fellows in 2017

Raviraj Adve
for contributions to cognitive sensing in passive and diversity
Uwe Hanebeck
for contributions to nonlinear estimation and control
Phillip Pace
for leadership in radar signal processing, receiver design, and direction finding architectures
Michael Rice
for contributions to communication waveforms, detection algorithms, and channel models for aeronautical telemetry
Frank Robey
for leadership in development of advanced radar systems
Evaluated by other Societies
Qilian Liang (CIS)
for contributions to interval type-2 fuzzy logic systems
Robert Palmer (GRS)
for contributions to atmospheric and meteorological radar science
Lars Ulander (GRS)
for advances in VHF- and UHF-band synthetic aperture radar

 AESS members elevated to IEEE Fellows in 2016

Christopher Baker
for contributions to cognitive sensing in passive and diversity

William Baldygo
for leadership in signal processing for radar systems

Edward Baranoski
for leadership in knowledge-aided radar systems for indoor environments

Shannon Blunt
for contributions to radar waveform diversity and design

David Doman
for contributions to flight dynamics and control

Giuseppe Fabrizio
for contributions to adaptive array signal processing in over-the-horizon radar systems

Lance Kaplan
for contributions to signal processing and information fusion for situational awareness

Ellis Meng
for contributions to biomedical microelectromechanical systems

Daniele Mortari
for contributions to navigational aspects of space systems

Evaluated by other Societies

Thor Fossen (CS)
for contributions to modelling and controlling of marine crafts

Mark Yeary (IM)
for contributions to radar systems for meteorology

Martin Vossiek (MTT)
for contributions to the design of wireless and radar positioning systems

Erik Larsson (SP)
for contributions to the technology of multi-antenna wireless communications

**AESS Fellows Evaluation Committee Members

 AESS members elevated to IEEE Fellows in 2015

Randy Avent
for leadership in automatic target recognition technology

Kristine Bell
for contributions to statistical signal processing with radar and sonar applications

Daniel Bliss
for contributions to adaptive sensor systems in radar and communications

Gordon Frazer
for contributions to advanced over-the-horizon radar

Gerard Lachapelle
for contributions to signal processing for global navigation satellite systems

Abhijit Mahalanobis
for contributions to the development of correlation filters for automatic target recognition

Teresa Pace
for contributions to image and signal processing algorithms for sensor systems

Unnikrishna Pillai
for contributions to adaptive signal processing and radar systems

Robert Qiu
for contributions to ultra-wideband wireless communiations

James Shields
for leadership in advanced guidance, navigation and information systems

William Song
for contributions in high-performance low-power embedded processors

Evaluated by other Societies

S. Gunasekaran (C)
for contributions to high-performance computer vision algorithms for airborne applications

Henry Leung (CAS)
for contributions to chaotic communications and nonlinear signal processing

David Love (COMM)
for contributions to feedback-adaptive wireless communication systems

Ji Wu (GRS)
for leadership in satellite remote sensing programs

 AESS members elevated to IEEE Fellows in 2014

Joachim Ender
for contributions to multi-channel synthetic aperture radar and radar array signal processing

Robert Ewing
for contributions to electronic system design in avionics

Yu Morton
for contributions to the understanding of ionospherice effects on global navigation satellite signals

Marina Ruggieri
for contributions to millimeter-wave satellite communications

Paul Ryan
for contributions to aviation safety

Iram Weinstein
for leadership in signal processing and test methods for radars detecting advanced aircraft and cruise missiles in severe terrain clutter

Evaluated by other Societies

Hao Huang (IA)
for contributions to electric power generation, conversion, and control in aircraft

Hassan Kojori (IA)
for contributions to the design and application of predictive and diagnostic algorithms in power electronics converters

Kim Fowler (IM)
for contributions to mission-critical and safety-critical systems engineering

Hector Fenech (SysC)
for leadership in the definition of telecommunications satellite architectures and systems through innovation and technological exploitation

Zachary Lemnois (SysC)
for leadership in advanced technologies of defense security systems

AESS members elevated to IEEE Fellows in 2013

Erwin Gangl
for development of digital avionics intra-communication systems and Mil-Std-1553

Marshall Greenspan
for contributions to design and development multi-channel radars

Antonio De Maio
for contributions to radar signal processing

Evaluated by other Societies

Christian Pichot (AP)
for contributions to microwave tomography and antenna designs

Om-Prakash Calla (GRS)
for leadership in space applications of microwave technology and remote sensing

Gerhard Krieger (GRS)
for contributions to advanced synthetic aperture radar systems

Mihai Datcu (GRS)
for contributions to information mining of high resolution synthetic aperature radar and optical earth observation images



Field of Interest

“The field of interest shall be the organization, systems engineering, design, development, integration, and operation of complex systems for space, air, ocean, or ground environments. These systems include but are not limited to navigation, avionics, mobile electric power and electronics, radar, sonar, telemetry, military, law-enforcement, automatic test, simulators, and command and control."


Technology Navigator


Enter the characters shown in the image.