Skip to main content

Fred Nathanson Memorial Radar Award

You are here

This award is in honor of the late Fred Nathanson and is sponsored by the IEEE Radar Systems Panel of the AES Society. The purpose of this award is to grant international recognition for outstanding contributions to the radar art. The goals of the Radar Systems Panel in granting this award are to encourage individual effort and to foster increased participation by developing radar engineers. Established to grant recognition for outstanding contributions to the radar art, this award, consisting of a plaque and honorarium, is to recognize a member of AESS who has not exceeded the age of 40 in the year of award receipt.   Nominees must be a member (in any grade) of IEEE/AESS and must have made outstanding contributions to the radar art; nominations must permit appraisal of the contributions.

Call for Nominations for 2022

Please use the *NEW* nomination form found here.  These are new and updated instructions, do not use any nomination form but this one.

Nomination Deadline:  January 31 (selections completed by February 28).

Process:The Nathanson selection committee is comprised of seven (7) members of the IEEE AES Radar Systems Panel, inclusive of the committee chair. Members of this committee generally serve during their tenure on the panel, though they may be rotated more frequently in the case of conflicts, whereby a member is perceived to receive a benefit from the success of one candidate over others. Committee membership strives to maintain a distribution that is internationally representative of the radar community. The award is advertised on the AESS webpage and in the AESS Systems Magazine.  The committee chair solicits the education grant proposal to be funded under the Nathanson family gift, and the AESS Awards Chair provides approval.

The selection criteria is based on four equally weighted categories, which are a) the impact of contributions to the advancement of radar systems, b) the breadth of contributions to the radar art, c) engagement with the IEEE/AESS radar community, and d) the strength of the reference letters.


$1,000 and Plaque. Travel expenses of up to $1,000 can be authorized by the AESS President. In addition, the awardee can receive a $1000 education grant from an endowment established by the Nathanson family pending the submission and approval of a short proposal.
Funded by the IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society from funds generated by AESS Systems Panel Conferences. The education grant is funded by the IEEE Foundation from an endowment established by the Nathanson family.
Young (not to exceed the age of 40 in the year of award) radar engineers who are AESS members and whose performance is particularly noteworthy as evidenced by contributions to the radar art over a period of several years.
Basis for Judging: 

Individual contributions to the radar community through technical papers, presentations, inventions, or products.

At IEEE Radar Conference or International Radar Conference.
2021 - "For contributions to radar resource management and cognitive radar."
2020 - "For pioneering research in long-range passive radar sensing, in particular the analysis and synthesis of novel detection and tracking methods."
2019 - "For innovative systems engineering advancements in the exploitation of scattering phenomena for the next generation passive and active imaging radars."
2018 - "For Fundamental, Experimental and Theoretical Work in Characterizing Radar Sea Clutter”"
2017 - "For Outstanding Contributions to the Field of Passive Radar Imaging "
2016 - "“For Contributions to Dismount Moving Target Indication and Adaptive Radar Signal Processing”"
2015 - "For outstanding contributions in radar imaging and adaptive waveform design"
2014 - "For contributions to sub-nyquist sampling theory with application to radar and array processing."
2013 - "For contributions to inverse synthetic aperture radar"
2012 - "For contributions to adaptive radar signal processing and waveform diversity"
2011 - "For contributions to OTH Radar and Radar Signal Processing."
2009 - "For contributions to radar signal processing"
2008 - "For contributions to signal processing, estimation, and detection theory"
2007 - "For contributions to Radar Signal Processing."
2006 - "For contributions to signal processing and systems engineering in airborne and space-based radar."
2005 - ""For Contributions to Radar Signal Processing""
2004 - "For Contributions To Radar Signal Processing"
2003 - "For contributions to radar and sonar signal processing"
2002 - "For advancement of adaptive processing algorithms using multiple degrees of freedom to detect weak signals in complex environments."
2001 - "For Advancement of Multi-Target/Sensor Tracking and Data Fusion and Radar Resource Management."
1998 - ""For Advancement of Adaptive Radar Signal Processing, Bistatic Radar, and Ultrawideband Radar" "
1996 - "For advancement of radar, remote sensing, antenna technology and radar education"
1991 - ""for contributions to synthetic aperture systems and electromagnetic modeling""
1987 - "For development of radar data processing techniques"
1986 - "For contributions in radar signal processing"

Field of Interest

“The field of interest shall be the organization, systems engineering, design, development, integration, and operation of complex systems for space, air, ocean, or ground environments. These systems include but are not limited to navigation, avionics, mobile electric power and electronics, radar, sonar, telemetry, military, law-enforcement, automatic test, simulators, and command and control."


Technology Navigator  Spectrum  

Email us at [email protected]