FRANK MCGINNIS PROFESSIONAL ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

The IEEE AUTOTESTCON Frank McGinnis Professional Achievement Award recognizes outstanding leadership, individual initiative and technical contributions in the field of automatic test engineering, either for a specific accomplishment or for a body of activities during a career. The award honors the memory of Frank McGinnis who headed an Industries/Joint Services Automatic Test Task Force instrumental in initiating new thrusts in military R&D in ATE. The Task Force evolved into the National Security Industrial Association (NSIA) Automatic Test Committee. NSIA later merged with the Advanced Defense Preparedness Association (NDIA), where the Automated Test Committee is still active within the NDIA Systems Engineering Division. The award includes recognition on a perpetual crystal trophy, an obelisk, and \$2000.00. The perpetual crystal trophy is on display at the Historical Electronics Museum in Linthicum, Maryland. It was previously known as the Westinghouse RADAR Museum and an SCR-270B radar is on external display there.

The 2010 Recipient is Dave Wallhermfechtel., a leader in the military automatic test industry. Dave's many accomplishments are listed in the 2010 AUTOTESTCON Program. Presentation of the award will be at the Thursday Luncheon.

This year we had three nominations to consider. A fourth nomination was received after an extended deadline.

For the 2011 nomination cycle, I plan to make an announcement during the award presentation requesting nominations be sent to me at <u>j.leonard@ieee.org</u>. In addition, Judy will assist me in placing an article in both AESS SYSTEMS Magazine and I&MS INSTRUMENTATION & MEASUREMENT Magazine. Notices of nomination will also be placed on both societies' web sites and on the AESS QEB. And, of course, I will accept nominations from the AUTOTESTCON Board of Directors.

The deadline for Nomination submissions is 1 June 2011. Plans are then to hold an email ballot on or about the 15th of June 2011. The award presentation will be at the 2011 AUTOTESTCON in Baltimore, Maryland.

OH! We have tree previous award winners with us here today: Bob Rassa, William Ross, and Milton Slade. It is indeed a pleasure to know you.

Respectfully submitted'

Jim Leonard