AES Elections 2010 for term beginning 1/1/11

Bob Rassa N&A Chair *Status Report Sept 2010*

Election Rules

- 8 members to be elected
 - 2 by Board
 - 6 by Membership
 - From Candidate field of 12 proposed by N&A
- Requested expressions of interest based on Web ad, Magazine ad, and QEB
 - Responses: as of April: 1
 - But more since then, plus N&A efforts to identify candidates and solicit their interest

N&A Committee

- Bob Rassa, Chair
- Jim Leonard
- Russ Lefevre
- Hugh Griffiths
- Erv Gangl

NOTE: Hugh Griffiths resigned from Committee prior to meeting to consider officers

Election Process

- candidate vetting finished
 - Prior BoG members considered, others as suggested by themselves or colleague
- When ballots handed out, vote for your 2
 preferred candidates
 - Majority vote-getters win; if no 2 candidates get majority, the half with least votes are dropped and we re-ballot
- The 12 candidates to BoG election, from which 2 will be chosen, are:

BoG Candidates

for 3-year term commencing Jan 1, 2011

Name	Affiliation	Country	A, I, G
Mark Davis *	Consultant	USA	I
George Dean *	retired	USA	R
Yaakov Oshman *	Asher Space Research Inst.	Israel	Α
Shirley Cheng	Boeing	USA	I
Alfonso Farina	Alenia Marconi	Italy	I
Erik Blasch	Defence R&D	Canada	G
Naresh Chand	BAE Systems	USA	I
Robert Ewing	USAF/AFRL	USA	G
Joseph Guerci	DARPA	USA	G
Richard Hochberg	CSC	USA	I
Peter Willett **	Univ of Connecticut	USA	Α
Larry Chasteen	Univ of Texas - Dallas	USA	Α

* Current BoG Member completing 1st term ** Prior BoG Member

AES Officer Elections

- New structure is 2-year terms, non-renewable
- Established as staggered at AES request & IEEE
 acceptance
 - VP Conferences, Publications, Member Services allowed to continue 1 more year (i.e. through 2010)
 - But Barry Breen resigned from VP position
 - New VPs for Finance, Education, Technical Activities, Industry Relations
 - Current Secretary leaves BoG
 - Treasurer resigned

AES Officer Elections

for 2-year, non-renewable term starting Jan 1, 2011

- VP- Publications: Hugh Griffiths
- VP- Industry Relations: Bill Lyons
- VP- Member Services: Ellis Hitt
- Secretary: Frank Reyes

AES Appointments

- AES N&A Committee recommends the BoG appointments of:
 - Treasurer, starting Jan 1, 2011:
 - Jose Bolanos
 - Interim Treasurer, Sept 17 to Dec 31, 2010:
 - George Dean
 - Grad Student Rep
 - Andrew Flanyak
 - Chair, Strategic Planning
 - Jim Howard

N&A Future Actions

- Conduct mail ballot election via IEEE for the remaining 6 BoG members
 - Will commence immediately, will have results by Nov 1
- Solicit candidates for UnderGrad Student representative from Board members
 - Must be engineering student and be willing to attend two BoG meetings
- Recommend appointment of AES member to replace Barry Breen who has missed 3 BoG meetings without extenuating circumstances ("conflicts") and stated via email that he'll have to resign
 - Would serve remainder of Breen term (2011)
 - Might be one of the 4 not successfully elected