

IEEE Aerospace Electronic Systems Awards

Fulvio Gini

AESS Spring 2023 Board of Governors Meeting San Antonio, Texas, USA



Main Activities



AESS Awards Ad Hoc Committee

- Fulvio Gini (Chair)
- Braham Himed
- Alfonso Farina
- Hugh Griffiths
- Dale Blair



Main Activities



Objectives

- Long term strategic <u>objectives</u>:
 - 1. Taking a fresh look at all awards;
 - 2. Initiating new awards;
 - 3. Implementing changes to ensure better governance through revised processes and structures.



Awards Portfolio





| Awards | Category | Who manage the selection process | Nomination deadline |
|--|------------------------|---|---------------------|
| 1. Pioneer Award | Society Award | Awards chair | December 1 |
| 2. Distinguished Service Award | Society Award | Awards chair | December 1 |
| 3. Judith Resnik Space Award | Society Award | Awards chair | December 1 |
| 4. Industrial Innovation Award | Society Award | Awards chair | December 1 |
| 5. Early Career Award | Society Award | Awards chair | December 1 |
| 6. Outstanding Technical Panel of the Year Award | Member Services Award | VP Technical Operations | December 1 |
| 7. Chapter of the Year Award | Member Services Award | VP Member Services | December 1 |
| 8. Robert T. Hill Best Dissertation Award | Education Award | VP Education | October 31 |
| 9. Engineering Scholarship | Education Award | VP Education | December 1 |
| 10. Michael C. Wicks Radar Student Travel Grant | Education Award | Co-chairs of the Student Activities Committee | December 1 |

Awards Portfolio



| Awards | Category | Who manage the selection process | Nomination deadline |
|--|--------------------------|--|---------------------|
| 11. Warren D. White Award | Panel Award | Committee Chair (appointed by the RSP chair) | January 31 |
| 12. Fred Nathanson Memorial Radar Award | Panel Award | Committee Chair (appointed by the RSP chair) | January 31 |
| 13. M. Barry Carlton Award | Publication Award | Journal EiC | January 31 |
| 14. Harry Rowe Mimno Award | Publication Award | Journal EiC | January 31 |
| 15. Walter R. Fried "PLANS" Best Paper Award in Navigation | Publication Award | Conference OC | January 31 |

| Certificate of Merit | Category | Who manage the selection process | Nomination deadline |
|---------------------------------------|----------------------|----------------------------------|---------------------|
| AESS Exceptional Service Award | Certificate of Merit | AESS BoG | On demand |

Nominationd received in the last 3 years



| Awards | Nominations 2022/23 | Nominations 2021/22 | Nominations 2020/21 |
|---|--------------------------------|---------------------------------|---------------------|
| | • | | |
| Fellowship | 11 | 12 | 20 |
| Pioneer Award | 3 | 1 (deadline extended 2 months) | 2 |
| * Outstanding Organizational Leadership Award | 1 (deadline extended 2 months) | 2* (deadline extended 2 months) | 2* |
| Judith Resnik Space Award | 2 (not assign this year) | 2 | 2 |
| Industrial Innovation Award | 2 | 3 | 2 |
| Early Career Award | 2 | 2 | 4 |
| R. T. Hill Best Dissertation Award | 8 | 10 | 10 |
| Warren D. White Award | 3 | 4 | 2 |
| Fred Nathanson Memorial Radar Award | 5 | 7 | 5 |
| M. Barry Carlton Award | 1 | N.A. | N.A. |
| Harry Rowe Mimno Award | N.A. | N.A. | N.A. |

Committee Members



| Distinguished Service Award | Society Pioneer Award | Judith A. Resnik Space Award | Industrial Innovation Award | Early Career Award |
|-----------------------------|----------------------------|------------------------------|--------------------------------|-----------------------|
| Peter Willett (3) | <u>Daniel Tazartes</u> (2) | Maruthi Akella (3) | Michael Noble (2) | George T. Schmidt (3) |
| Michael Braasch (3) | Shoba Ram (1) | Aloke Roy (3) | Lyudmila Mihaylova (2) | Laura Anitori (1) |
| Hugh Griffiths (1) | Maria S. Greco (2) | Tanya Vladimirova (1) | Alfonso Farina (1) | Steve Butler (3) |
| Stephanie Bidon (2) | Giuseppe A. Fabrizio (2) | Jade Morton (3) | Joseph Guerci (3) | Kathleen Kramer (2) |

- 3 years for the chair and 3, 2, and 1-year terms for the committee members.
- Replace at least one member for each committee every year.
- Gender and Geographical Diversity!



Future Actions



- Weaknesses:

 For most of the awards, the number of nominations received every year is still small; sometimes only 1 (in this case we usually extend the deadline) or 2.

- Actions (suggested):

- The six AESS Panels should contribute more substantially, e.g. providing 1-2 nominations every year for each award (TBD with VP Technical Operations).
- The collaboration initiated with the <u>Industry Relations committee</u> to stimulate more nominations (in particular for the Industrial Innovation Award) has been fruitful so far.



Motion 1



MOTION: The AESS Award Committee moves to update the requirements TABARC Manual for the Fred Nathanson Memorial Radar Award description and eligibility from

"To recognize a young (less than 40 years of age) AESS radar engineer whose performance is particularly noteworthy as evidenced by his contributions to the radar art."

To

"To recognize a young AESS radar engineer whose age has not reached the 41st birthday by the nomination deadline and whose performance is particularly noteworthy as evidenced by their contributions to the radar art."

- Pros:
 - To be consistent with the language used in the AESS Early Career Award description and eligibility requirements and remove gendered language from the description.
- Cons:
 - None
- Financial Implications: \$0



Motion 2



MOTION: The AESS Award Committee moves to update the TABARC Manual for the Harry Rowe Mimno Award description from

"\$1,000 and Plaque. If more than one awardee, the monies are divided equally with individual Plaques. Travel expenses of up to \$1,000 per individual (up to a maximum of \$1,500 for multiple awards) may be authorized by President of Society."

To

"\$1,000 and Plaque. If more than one awardee, the monies are divided equally with individual Plaques. Travel expenses of up to \$1,000 per individual awardee (up to a maximum of \$1,500 for multiple awardees) may be authorized by President of Society."

- Pros:
 - To improve clarity. A single paper is awarded, possibly with multiple authors.
- Cons:
 - None
- Financial Implications: \$0

