Justin Metcalf

Justin Garth Metcalf

University of Oklahoma
IEEE Region
Region 5 (Southwestern U.S.)
Technical Area
Radar Systems

Contact Menu

Dr. Justin Metcalf received his BS in Computer Engineering from Kansas State University in 2006 where he was a KSU Presidential Scholar. From 2006-2008 he was at the Flight Simulation Labs of Lockheed Martin Aeronautics in Fort Worth, TX. From 2008-2014 he was with the Radar Systems Lab of the University of Kansas, were he obtained an MS in Electrical Engineering in 2011 and a PhD in Electrical Engineering in 2015. He was the recipient of the Richard and Wilma Moore Award for the best departmental MS thesis in 2011-2012. He was a Research Electronics Engineer with the Sensors Directorate of the Air Force Research Laboratory from 2014-2018. He was the chair of the Dayton Chapter of the IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society from 2016-2018 and won the 2017 IEEE Dayton Section Young Professionals Award. Since 2018 he has been an Assistant Professor with the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at the University of Oklahoma, and a member of the Advanced Radar Research Center. He was the recipient of a DARPA Young Faculty Award in 2020 and has been a member of the IEEE AESS Radar Systems Panel since 2020. He was appointed as an Aerospace and Defense Fellow at the University of Oklahoma in 2023.

IEEE AESS Position History:
  • Present   Radar Systems Assoc Editor (TAES Technical Areas and Editors)
  • Present   Members (Radar Systems Panel Committee)
  • Outdated or incorrect contact information? Please click here to update us with the correct information.