Post Type

2022 IEEE Radar Conference in New York City!

A brief summary of RadarConf'22 activities
2 years 3 months ago
Share on:

For the first time, the IEEE Radar Conference was held in New York City in Times Square. The hybrid conference was held both in person and virtually. This format allowed those unable to travel due to COVID-19 and other restrictions to participate in the conference. In total, there were 419 attendees from over 37 countries.

In addition to the technical program this year, a two-day Radar Summer School was hosted featuring 11 world-class professors that covered a wide range of radar topics. There were 86 attendees who participated in the program. Learn more here.

The Student Paper Contest had 6 finalists. The purpose of the Student Paper Competition is to recognize outstanding technical contributions from individual students. This years finalists and winners are:

  • 1st place: Jonathan Owen, paper 4212 “Real-Time Experimental Demonstration and Evaluation of Open-Air Sense-and-Notch Radar"
  • 2nd place: Christian C. Jones, paper 4208 “Development & Experimental Assessment of Robust Direction Finding and Self-Calibration”
  • 3rd place: Daniel Whited, paper 4266 “Multi-rotor Drone Micro-Doppler Simulation Incorporating Genuine Motor Speeds and Validation with L-band Staring Radar”

The Award Ceremony Luncheon honored the following individuals for their recognition in 2022. Read more about all AESS Awards

  • 2022 IEEE Dennis J. Picard Medal for Radar Technologies and Applications - Moeness G. Amin
  • IEEE Fellow Class of 2022 - Jerald Nespor, Daniel Tazartes, Frank van Diggelen*, Maruthi Akella*, Chee-Yee Chong*
  • 2021 IEEE AESS Pioneer Award - Pramod K. Varshney*
  • 2022 AESS Judith A. Resnik Space Award - Erik P. Blasch*
  • 2022 Fred Nathanson Memorial Radar Award - Augusto Aubry 
  • 2021 Fred Nathanson Memorial Radar Award - Alexander Charlish
  • 2020 Fred Nathanson Memorial Radar Award - Mateusz Manalowski 
  • 2021 Certificate of Merit for Exceptional Service - Fabiola Colone, Peter Willett
  • 2021 Outstanding Organizational Leadership Award - Giuseppe A. Fabrizio 
  • 2022 Warren D. White Award - Fulvio Gini
  • 2021 IEEE AESS Robert T. Hill Best Dissertation Award - Joe Khalife 
  • 2021 IEEE AESS Early Career Award - Domenico Ciuonzo
  • 2021 IEEE AESS Technical Panel of the Year Award - Claudio Sacchi

The 2022 IEEE Michael C. Wicks Radar Student Travel Grant was given for the first time at RadarConf22'. This year's recipients included:

  • Marco Di Seglio (Germany) for the paper entitled “Reducing the Computational Complexity of WiFi-Based Passive Radar Processing”
  • Karol Abratkiewicz (Poland) for the paper entitled “Radar Pulse Signal Filtering Using Vertical Synchrosqueezing”
  • Marcel Hoffman (Germany) for the paper entitled “Filter-Based Segmentation of Automotive SAR Images”

Save the Date: RadarConf'23
The 2023 Radar Conference will be held in San Antonio, Texas, USA from April 28-May 5, 2023. Please check the AESS for RadarConf'23 website for updates and announcements.

Call for Proposals: RadarConf'25
If you are interested in hosting RadarConf'25, check out the Call for Proposals here