Giuseppe A. Fabrizio

Giuseppe A. Fabrizio

Defence Science and Technology Group
IEEE Region
Region 10 (Asia and Pacific)
Technical Area
Radar Systems

Contact Menu

Giuseppe A. Fabrizio (M’08–F’16) received the B.E. and Ph.D. degrees from the School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, University of Adelaide, Adelaide, South Aust., Australia, in 1992 and 2000, respectively.

Since 1993, he has been with Defence Science and Technology (DST) Group, Edinburgh, South Aust., Australia, where, from 2005 to 2015, he led the Electronic Warfare and Signal Processing section of the high-frequency (HF) radar branch. In that role, he was responsible for the development and practical implementation of innovative electronic protection methods and robust adaptive array-processing techniques to enhance the operational performance of the Jindalee Operational Radar Network (JORN). In 2016, he was appointed the Group Leader of the Microwave Radar Systems Science and Technology Capability, DST, where he is currently the Research Leader of the Surveillance and Reconnaissance Systems Branch. In his current position, he has responsibility for all facets of research and development in active and passive radar systems (excluding HF) as well as for providing advice to Government on major defense acquisition projects.

Dr. Fabrizio is the principal author of more than 60 peer-reviewed journals and conference publications. He is twice the co-recipient of the prestigious M. Barry Carlton Award for the best paper published in the IEEE Transactions on Aerospace and Electronic Systems in 2003 and 2004. In 2007, he was the recipient of the coveted DST Group Science and Engineering Excellence Award for contributions to robust adaptive array-processing applied in JORN. In the same year, he was granted a DST Group Science Fellowship to pursue collaborative research at La Sapienza University, Rome, Italy. He has delivered seven OTH-radar tutorials in national and international IEEE Radar Conference series. He is an Australian representative of the IEEE International Radar Systems Panel and is an AES Society Distinguished Lecturer. He was the Vice President of Education on the AES Board of Governors (2012–2015), Executive Vice President (2015–2017), and President of the AESS (2018–2019). He has collaborated with several international defense agencies under MoU agreements and has represented Australia in NATO SET task-group activities. He has engaged extensively with private industry, and collaborated with numerous academic institutions in Australia and abroad. He was the recipient of the distinguished IEEE Fred Nathanson Memorial Radar Award in 2011 for his contributions to OTH radar and radar-signal processing. He is the author of the text High Frequency Over-the-Horizon Radar Fundamental Principles, Signal Processing and Practical Applications, (New York, NY, USA: McGraw-Hill, 2013).

AESS Position(s): 
Past President (2020-2021); President (2018-2019); Short Course Committee Chair (2020); AESS Short Course Instructor; AESS Distinguished Lecturer (2020-2022); IEEE Fellow

IEEE AESS Position History:
  • 2024-Present   Nominations & Appointments Committee Member (Nominations & Appointments Committee)
  • 2023-Present   Board of Governor Member-at-Large (BoG)
  • 2021-Present   Nominations & Appointments Committee Chair (Nominations & Appointments Committee)
  • 2023-2023   Member Services Committee Member (Member Services Committee)
  • 2023-2023   Short Course Committee Member (Short Course Committee)
  • 2021-2022   Fellows Evaluations Committee Chair (Fellows Evaluations Committee)
  • 2021-2021   Short Course Committee Chair (Short Course Committee)
  • 2020-2021   Past President (Officers)
  • 2018-2019   President (Officers)
  • 2015-2017   Board of Governor Member-at-Large (BoG)
  • 2013-2015   Vice President Education (Officers)
  • Outdated or incorrect contact information? Please click here to update us with the correct information.