Maria S. Greco

Maria Sabrina Greco

University of Pisa
IEEE Region
Region 8 (Africa, Europe, Middle East)
Technical Area
Radar Systems

Contact Menu

Maria S. Greco graduated in Electronic Engineering in 1993 and received the Ph.D. degree in Telecommunication Engineering in 1998, from University of Pisa, Italy. From December 1997 to May 1998 she joined the Georgia Tech Research Institute, Atlanta, USA as a visiting research scholar where she carried on research activity in the field of radar detection in non-Gaussian background. In 1993 she joined the Department of Information Engineering of the University of Pisa, where she is Associate Professor since December 2011. She’s IEEE fellow since January 2011 and she was co-recipient of the 2001 IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society’s Barry Carlton Award for Best Paper and recipient of the 2008 Fred Nathanson Young Engineer of the Year award for contributions to signal processing, estimation, and detection theory. She's IEEE SPS Distinguished Lecturer for the years 2014-15. She has been general-chair, technical chair and organizing committee member of many conferences (EUSIPCO2006, WDD2007, RadCon2008, CAMSAP2009, CIP2010, CAMSAP2011, SAM2014, ICASSP2014). She was guest co-editor of the special issue of the Journal of the IEEE Signal Processing Society on Special Topics in Signal Processing on "Adaptive Waveform Design for Agile Sensing and Communication," published in June 2007 and s lead guest editor of the special issue of International Journal of Navigation and Observation on” Modelling and Processing of Radar Signals for Earth Observation published in August 2008. She’s Associate Editor of IET Proceedings – Sonar, Radar and Navigation since 2009, of the IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing (2009-2013), Associate Editor in Chief of the IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Magazine since 2011, member of the Editorial Board of the Journal of Advances in Signal Processing (JASP) since 2008, member of the IEEE Signal Processing Theory and Methods (SPTM) and chair of the EDU Subcommittee (2009-2014), and member of the Signal Array Processing (SAM) Technical Committees (2010-2015). She's also member of the IEEE AESS Radar Panel and of IEEE AESS Board of Governors (2012-2014). Her general interests are in the areas of statistical signal processing, estimation and detection theory. In particular, her research interests include radar clutter models, spectral analysis, coherent and incoherent detection in non-Gaussian clutter, CFAR techniques, radar waveform diversity and bistatic/multistatic radars. She co-authored three book chapters, more than 150 journal and conference papers.

AESS Position(s): 

BoG (2022-2024) (2019-2021); President-Elect (2022-2023); VP Publications (2019-2020); AESS Distinguished Lecturer (2020-2022); IEEE Fellow

IEEE AESS Position History:
  • Present   Members (Radar Systems Panel Committee)
  • 2024-Present   President (Officers)
  • 2022-Present   Board of Governor Member-at-Large (BoG)
  • Past   Finance Committee Member (Finance Committee)
  • 2022-2023   President-Elect (Officers)
  • 2022-2023   Publications Committee Member (Publications Committee)
  • 2021-2021   Member Services Committee Member (Member Services Committee)
  • 2019-2021   Board of Governor Member-at-Large (BoG)
  • 2014-2016   Secretary (Officers)
  • Outdated or incorrect contact information? Please click here to update us with the correct information.